Looking at the 22-23 Season

2022-23 looks to be an exciting year in Oklahoma high school wrestling with numerous highly ranked wrestlers, several outstanding teams, and the explosive growth of Girls Wrestling in Oklahoma.  Previous articles have outlined the returning state champions and state placers, so here we will focus on the growth and changes for the upcoming season.  

Two signs of the continued growth of Girls Wrestling in Oklahoma are the increased number of teams and an increase in the number of weight categories for the girls.  According to OSSAA Assistant Director Wes Ruth, 17 schools added girl’s programs, increasing the number to 134 schools offering Girls Wrestling this year.  In 2020 and 2021, there were 10 weight classes for the girls, which increased to 12 in 2022 and will match the boys in offering 14 weight classes for the 2022-2023 season. 


Barnsdall Heavener
Bridge Creek  Hulbert
Clinton  Lawton Academy of Arts & Sciences
Cordell  Muskogee
Deer Creek Newkirk 
Dewar Okmulgee
Duncan  Sand Springs 
Empire Wilson (Henryetta)


100 135
105 140
110 145
115 155
120 170
125 190
130 235

Boys wrestling also continues to grow with five schools adding programs this year.  According to Ruth, 164 schools filled out the OSSAA online entry form registering boy’s teams for the upcoming season.  With 32 teams each in Classes 6A, 5A and 4A, this will put 68 teams in Class 3A.  Teams changing classifications this year are listed below with the most significant change, the move of Cascia Hall from Class 3A to Class 4A.  Cascia Hall returns three state champions (Miles Velasquez, Cory Velasquez, and Luke Eschenheimer), 2X state placer and 2021 Fargo All-American Treshaun Tecson and state qualifier Cam Webb.  Cascia Hall welcomes a 4th state champion with the addition of sophomore Gerald Harris to the team.  Harris went 45-5 in winning the 113 lb. Class 5A state title for Collinsville last year.  


Now in Class 6A

Midwest City (moved from 5A)

Now in Class 5A

John Marshall (moved from 4A)

Newcastle (moved from 4A)

Tahlequah (moved from 6A)

Now in Class 4A

Ada (moved from 5A)

Cascia Hall (moved from 3A)

Douglass (moved from 3A)

Lexington/Purcell (moved from 3A)

Woodward (moved from 5A)

Now in Class 3A

Bristow (moved from 4A)

Cleveland (moved from 4A)

Perkins-Tryon (moved from 4A)

While classifications can change yearly for the traditional State Tournament, districts that determine Dual State participants are assigned every two years.  This is the second year of the current districts so there is no change from last year in the district alignments.


Lawton Academy of Arts & Sciences
Wilson (Henryetta)


106 150
113 157
120 165
126 175
132 190
138 215
144 285

OSSAA Wrestling Districts 2021-2022 and 2022-2023

Class 6A

District 1 District 2 District 3   District 4
Edmond North Edmond Memorial Choctaw Edmond Santa Fe
Midwest City Mustang Lawton Norman
Putnam City Norman North Moore Westmoore
Southmoore Northwest Classen Putnam City North Yukon
District 5   District 6   District 7 District 8
Bartlesville Broken Arrow Capitol Hill Deer Creek
Bixby Del City Putnam City West Ponca City
Jenks Enid Stillwater Sand Springs
Muskogee Owasso U.S. Grant Union

Class 5A

District 1 District 2   District 3   District 4
Altus Bishop McGuinness Elgin Carl Albert
Ardmore Guthrie El Reno MacArthur
Duncan John Marshall Southeast Noble
Eisenhower Piedmont Woodward Santa Fe South
District 5 District 6   District 7   District 8
Bishop Kelley Claremore Coweta Durant
Collinsville Edison Prep Shawnee Glenpool
East Central Pryor Tahlequah McAlester
Nathan Hale Sapulpa Will Rogers Western Heights

Class 4A

District 1 District 2  District 3  District 4
Cache Douglass Blanchard Ada
Clinton Kingfisher Chickasha Cushing
Elk City Newcastle Harrah McLoud
Weatherford Tuttle Madill Tecumseh
District 5  District 6 District 7  District 8
Bristow Catoosa Cleveland Broken Bow
McLain Grove Hilldale Ft. Gibson
Miami Oologah-Talala Mannford Poteau
Skiatook Sallisaw Wagoner Stilwell

Class 3A

District 1  District 2  District 3  District 4
Bridge Creek Bethel Cashion Blackwell
Cordell Community Christian Hennessey Cascia Hall
Crossings Christian Lexington Oklahoma Christian School Chandler
Geary Little Axe Pawnee Morrison
Heritage Hall Marlow Perkins-Tryon Newkirk
Hinton Pauls Valley Perry Prague
Watonga  Wilburton Tonkawa  Victory Christian
District 5  District 6  District 7 District 8
Anadarko Barnsdall Daniel Webster Berryhill
Comanche Holland Hall Henryetta Checotah
Davis-Mill Creek Inola Jay Hulbert
Hobart Metro Christian Lincoln Christian Locust Grove
Mangum Pawhuska Morris Sequoyah Tahlequah
Plainview Salina Okmulgee Vinita
Sulphur Sperry Vian Warner

Source link